Soul Spy?

Kia Soul EV Forum

Help Support Kia Soul EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Onaix

Someone have made a Leaf Spy app where you can read SOC, voltage on each cell, GIDS etc. But we should have an equal app for the kia soul! I unfortunately can't programming, or else i would have made it in a heartbeat.
So i hope that if there are any programmers with the kia they would make this!

Hi,

I was looking for a tool like LEAF Spy for the Soul EV. To my understanding so far (including this post!), it doesn't exist.. yet! I am a programmer and I've worked with CAN Bus over the past, this project seems interesting!

We just pre-ordered a Soul a few weeks ago. It should arrive between 3-6 months! I can't wait to receive it so I can start working on this project!

Actually, it is harder and takes more time than you might think. Since none of the buss data is documented, it all has to be reverse engineered... The programming is actually the relatively easy part...

Onaix said:
Someone have made a Leaf Spy app where you can read SOC, voltage on each cell, GIDS etc. But we should have an equal app for the kia soul! I unfortunately can't programming, or else i would have made it in a heartbeat.

Being the author of LeafSpy I would agree that the majority of the work is in reverse engineering the CAN bus messages.

For the Nissan Leaf there are actually three CAN buses available on the OBDII connector (CAR, EV and AV). If someone has access to a Service manual it could show the CAN bus structure used in the KIA Soul EV.

I have tools for capturing the CAN bus sequences but would need access to a KIA Soul EV.

Hello,
are there any news concerning a Soul Spy SW?
Has anyone access to a service manual or a good connection to a mechanic (CAN ID's or even better CAN database file)?

Best Regards,
AlKl