Does the Kia Soul EV require EVSE to Fast Charge (32 Amp)?

Kia Soul EV Forum

Help Support Kia Soul EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DurhamFarm

Hi all, I have been driving EV's for 3 years, my first one is a DIY conversion of a tiny Honda Beat, the second is a Mia Electric (Quirky 3 seater) and I love them both, neither of these cars require any sort of EVSE, however the Mia can only charge at Type 1 slow charge, my DIY build can charge at 32Amps directly from a dedicated hard wired wall outlet with an 8 meter J1772 Charge cable, but then I built the charger myself from an EMW kit.

My question is (as the title states), does the Kia Soul EV "require" EVSE (Electric Vehicle Service Equipment) to Fast Charge @ 32 Amps? or will it charge at 32 Amps via a J1772 cable wired directly to a dedicated hard wired output with a 40 Amp trip?

Lets assume that I am not interested in charge stats, oh and I live in the UK and have a (separate/independent from my house) 240v single phase domestic supply in my garage.

I am seriously interested in the Kia Soul EV because it has class leading 200kwh/kg (NMC) energy density batteries (Basically the dogs nuts of battery tech right now!), it is getting excellent reviews (even by hard core petrol heads!) and has fantastic charge options (despite the lack of infrastructure) not to mention the sweet in car electronics, heat pumps etc.

I am obviously an EV nut, and basically the Soul EV is by far the best EV that money can buy (not including cars for the rich and famous, Teslas etc.) I commend all of you here for having the balls to invest in this world leading technology.

Does anyone here have any ideas on my question?

Many Thanks

Graham Martin