TPMS Mystery

Kia Soul EV Forum

Help Support Kia Soul EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leafer

So, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum ... (with apologies to Plautus) ;-)

But first let me talk of my regrets.

1. I regret not having marked the location of the tires (prior to being rotated).
2. I also regret not having verified the relative positioning of the TPMS sensors as displayed in TorquePro versus actual tire location.

Now some of the background: I've been using Torque Pro for the past several months and within at least the past several weeks have not made any changes whatsoever to either the parameters (PIDs) or the displays.

A couple of days ago I ended up with a nail in the center of the tread of the right rear tire. I'm sorry ... I should be more consistent. The BR or back right tire.

How do I know this? you may ask. I noticed an unusual regular speed-proportional noise while driving, stopped the car and having heard the noise on the right inspected the back rear tire and found the nail. It was a slow leaker. I turned on Torque Pro and started monitoring the pressure on the BR.

I was on my way home but had to make a 30-minute stop. When I got back in the car the pressure had dropped from its normal 33 PSI to about 23 and the dashboard warning light for low pressure was on. As I started driving again the pressure slowly decreased further and I quickly stopped by a gas station to add air to 32 PSI. The Torque Pro display on the BR verified the air added.

My next stop was the tire repair shop which I reached with 27 PSI. They quickly fixed the BR with a patch and I was off again. The warning light for low pressure on the dash did not go off immediately, but the pressure in all four tires appeared normal and consistent.