Which charger station do you recommend?

Kia Soul EV Forum

Help Support Kia Soul EV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mknight

Hi,

I have not bought my Soul EV, yet - and I'm new to EVs overall.

I had my electrician run a dedicated 55AMP 220 Line to where I will install the charger station and need to choose which to get.

Do any of you have any recommendations for an inexpensive outdoor unit that works well with the Soul EV?

I want to get the maximum power charging speed possible without damaging the battery.

Looking at Amazon, there is the GE EV Charger Indoor/Outdoor Level-2 DuraStation Wall Mount with 18 ft. Cord for $399 Link: http://amzn.com/B00VVFO39W that has good reviews and runs up to 30 AMP - anybody have any experience with that with the Soul EV?

Does it matter what you get?

I heard there is an open source one that runs up to 40 AMP - would that work well with the car? Is it worth spending the extra $100 bucks now to be future ready for higher AMP cars in the future?
JuiceBox 40A Plug-in Electric Vehicle Charger / Charging Station with 24-foot Cable and NEMA 14-50 Plug
by Electric Motor Werks, Inc.
Link: http://amzn.com/B00I4D6SJ2

Thanks for the feedback, its been a very solo learning project here and I really appreciate your help.

Michael

I went with this...
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-EVB32-H18-Evr-Green-Charging-Station/dp/B00YCRNJVY/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1454867355&sr=8-7&keywords=Leviton+EVSE

There are some cheaper EVSEs, but my power company (PSE) rebated $500 so I only paid $75. Leviton is a good brand and my electrician thought it was a very good unit.

Then, I got $200 back on my federal taxes when I filed yesterday.